Willie Nelson Is Back Atop Billboard’s Country Albums Chart With “God’s Problem Child”

Willie Nelson Is Back Atop Billboard’s Country Albums Chart With “God’s Problem Child”

If Willie Nelson’s 84th birthday wish was to have another No. 1 album, he got it.

Willie dropped his new album, God’s Problem Child, on April 28, the eve of his 84th birthday. One week later, God’s Problem Child is the No. 1 album on Billboard’s Top Country Albums chart and No. 10 on the all-genre Billboard 200, selling 36,000 equivalent albums according to Nielsen Music.

Not bad for a guy who’s “Still Not Dead.”

The new 13-song offering—seven of which were co-penned by Willie and producer Buddy Cannon—is Willie’s first solo album of all new songs since 2014’s Band of Brothers, which also reached No. 1.

Over the last few years, Willie has been especially active in the studio, recording a duet album with Merle Haggard—Django and Jimmie—in 2015, as well as tribute albums to George Gershwin and Ray Price in 2016. The former, Summertime: Willie Nelson Sings Gershwin, won Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album at the 2017 Grammy Awards.

God’s Problem Child Track Listing & Songwriters

  1. “Little House On The Hill” (Lyndel Rhodes)
  2. “Old Timer” (Donnie Fritz / Lenny LeBlanc)
  3. “True Love” (Willie Nelson / Buddy Cannon)
  4. “Delete And Fast Forward” (Willie Nelson / Buddy Cannon)
  5. “A Woman’s Love” (Mike Reid / Sam Hunter)
  6. “Your Memory Has A Mind Of Its Own” (Willie Nelson / Buddy Cannon)
  7. “Butterfly” (Sonny Throckmorton / Mark Sherrill)
  8. “Still Not Dead” (Willie Nelson / Buddy Cannon)
  9. “God’s Problem Child” (Jamey Johnson / Tony Joe White)
  10. “It Gets Easier” (Willie Nelson / Buddy Cannon)
  11. “Lady Luck” (Willie Nelson / Buddy Cannon)
  12. “I Made A Mistake” (Willie Nelson / Buddy Cannon)
  13. “He Won’t Ever Be Gone” (Gary Nicholson)


Concert Calendar